Strawberry Balsamic Dressing

Strawberries have been ripe here in Alabama and we have loved getting them from Jerry Marsh Farms.  My goal is to enjoy them while they are here and make sure to freeze some and make some jam.  Today we had an old favorite.  Strawberry salad with a strawberry balsamic vinaigrette.  This dressing idea is from Lindsey who can make dressings on the fly.  This version though is from the Whole Foods website.  I just made a few changes.  For tonight’s salad we did lettuce, chicken, strawberries, and roasted almonds.  You can substitute any berry, any nut, and different lettuces.  I really like this with spinach, but didn’t have any on hand.  As you can see sometimes I also sneak in a sharp cheese!



Strawberry balsamic dressing 

2/3 cupsliced fresh organic strawberries

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

1/2 shallot,chopped

2 teaspoons fresh thyme leaves

1 teaspoons Dijon mustard

1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

Blend all ingredients in a blender or food processor.  I didn’t have fresh thyme, and it still was great.  The recipe also called for 1/4 c. water, but I don’t think it needs it.

We have also been on the hunt for a good strawberry jam recipe without a ton of sugar.  Here is a link to a recipe from Simple Homemadethat we tried today with grape juice and honey.  It has to set overnight, so I still don’t know about the consistency.  It sure tasted good, but I would decrease the honey.  The strawberries are so good (and sweet), I really want to taste them.

Strawberry Freezer Jam

Leave a comment