Southwest Meatloaf

Meatloaf gets a bad rap, but we love it at our house! I got the original recipe for this Southwest version from PaleOMG (and have tweaked it a little for our taste) and it is so good. I don’t think I’ll ever go back to regular meatloaf – I’ve made it twice in the last 6 days!

Here’s how I make it to feed my family of 4 (with enough for lunch the next day):

In a food processor, finely chop:
1 red bell pepper
1 orange or yellow bell pepper
1 Purple onion
4-6 cloves garlic

Saute the veggies in 1 T coconut oil for about 10 minutes or until the liquid is gone and the veggies are getting some color.

In a large bowl mix:
2 lbs grass-fed ground beef
1/2-3/4 c almond flour (I was out and just ground up some blanched almonds in my food processor)
2-3 T hot sauce
2 T chili powder
2 t paprika
1/2 t each sea salt and pepper
the sauteed veggies

Toss the mixture with a fork, being careful not to “knead” the meat, but mixing until just incorporated.

I form 2 loaves on a sheet pan, but you can put them in loaf pans if you’d like. Bake 400 degrees for about 30 minutes. Let rest 5-10 minutes before serving. We like it with lots of guacamole on top.

Here’s how I make guac:

2 ripe Haas avocados
juice of 1 lime
1 garlic clove, minced
1/4 c minced purple onion
1/2 c chopped cilantro
1 tomato, chopped
s/p to taste

Mix gently with a fork. We like ours chunky, so I don’t mix it much.

We ate it this week with mashed sweet potatoes (just boiled sweet potatoes mashed with coconut oil, slat, pepper, and a splash of heavy cream), and sauteed green beans.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Southwest Meatloaf

  1. Pingback: Whole30 Week 1 Meal Plan | Nutty Mamas

Leave a Reply

